Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors are leading experts in their field, representing our diverse membership in different regions. They bring a wealth of experience and represent multiple stakeholders, including insurers, non-profits, tech companies, supervisors and regulators, microfinance institutions and think-tanks. The nine directors are elected by Network members for a two-year term, most recently in November 2018 for the 2019-2020 period:

Doubell Chamberlain (Cenfri), Chair of the Board (2017-2020); Board member (2015-2020).
Doubell is a development economist with extensive global experience in microinsurance. Based in South Africa, he is the founder and Managing Director of Cenfri, an independent, non-profit think tank and thought leader working on financial sector development in emerging markets.

Andrea Keenan (AM Best), Vice-Chair of the Board (2015-2020).
As Senior Managing Director of Strategy & Communications, Andrea launched AM Best's first emerging market subsidiary in Latin America. She also acts as an advisor in international regulatory efforts towards financial inclusion. Andrea is based in the United States.

Mandla Shezi (Hollard), Board member and Secretary of the Microinsurance Network (2015-2020).
Mandla is CEO of Hollard International and is based in Johannesburg, South Africa. He is passionate about access to affordable insurance for the poor and insurance to cover poor communities against natural disasters.

Lorenzo Chan (Pioneer Life Incorporated), Board member (2017-2020) and Treasurer  of the Microinsurance Network (2019-2020).
President and CEO of Pioneer Life and Retail Organization and Head of the Philippines Pioneer Group, Lorenzo brings years of practical experience in both insurance and microinsurance to the MiN Board.

Kate McKee, Board member (2017-2020).
Based in the United States, Kate most recently led the start-up of the Partnership for Economic Inclusion (PEI), a World Bank-hosted initiative to accelerate scaling up, innovation and systems change for the “graduation approach” to help transition people out of extreme poverty.

Mathilda Ström (BIMA), Board member (2017-2020).
Mathilda is Co-Founder, Deputy CEO and Head of Business Development for BIMA, a leading insurance tech player using mobile technology to drive financial inclusion. She brings a wealth of expertise in digital and mobile technology. Mathilda is based in the United Kingdom.

Francisco Astelarra (FIDES), Board member (2019-2020).

Francisco has worked in the insurance industry for nearly four decades including spells as Executive Director and President of the Asociación Argentina de Compañías de Seguros (AACS), and currently as Secretary-General of FIDES (Inter-American Federation of Insurance Companies), based in Chile.

Matthew Genazzini (ADA), Board member (2019-2020)
Matthew currently manages technical support for the microfinance institutions unit at ADA, a Luxembourg-based organisation which aims to strengthen MFIs through the provision of financial support and technical assistance services.

Roshaneh Zafar (Kashf Foundation), Board member (2019-2020)
Founder and Managing Director of Kashf Foundation in Pakistan, which Roshaneh set up in 1996 to support women micro-entrepreneurs. She writes regularly for various publications including Dawn, Tribune and Newsweek Pakistan and has represented Kashf and Pakistan at many international forums including the World Economic Forum.


Previous Board members

The Microinsurance Network would like to extend a sincere thank you to all previous members of the Board who, through their expertise and insights, have helped the Network grow into the strong and diverse membership-based organisation it is today. In particular we would like to thank:

Chaig Churchill, Board member (2009 - 2014); Founding member of the Microinsurance Network and previous Chair of the Board; Chief of the Social Finance Programme at the International Labour Organization.

Brigitte Klein, Board member (2009-2014); Head of Sector Project Financial System Development at GIZ on behalf of BMZ.
Alexia Latortue, Board Member (2009-2013); Previous Deputy-CEO at the Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP); Managing Director at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD).
Richard Leftley, Board Member (2015-2016); Founder and CEO at MicroEnsure.
Brandon Mathews, Board member (2009-2013); Previously Head of Emerging Consumer at Zurich Insurance Company; CEO at Stonestep AG.
Michael J. McCord, Board member (2013-2016). Held positions as Treasurer, Vice-Chair and Chair of the Board; President at the MicroInsurance Centre.
Bert Opdebeeck, Board member (August-December 2013); Previously Microinsurance Programme Coordinator at the Belgian Raiffeisen Foundation (BRS); now Founder of Microinsurance Master.
Sabbir Patel, Board member (2009-2011); Senior Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at ICMIF.
 Sabrina Regent, Board member (2009-2011); Director of Microinsurance Programmes at Planet Guarantee.
Dirk Reinhard, Board member (2009 - 2013); Vice-Chairman at Munich Re Foundation.
Maria Victoria Sáenz, Board member (2009 - 2013); Lead Operations Specialist at Multilateral Investment Fund, Inter-American Development Bank (IADB).

Thierry van Bastelaer, Board member (2014-2016); Vice President and Senior Fellow at Abt Associates.

Alejandra Diaz Agudelo Board member (2015-2018), Director of Financial Inclusion and Sustainability at Fasecolda.
Denis Garand, Board member and Treasurer of the Microinsurance Network (2015-2018), President of Denis Garand and Associates.
Francesco Rispoli, Board member (2015-2018), Previously Senior Technical Specialist; now Country Programme Manager - Rwanda/Tanzania at IFAD.



Find out about our Executive Team